Pesto Pita Pizzas!

Posted on Updated on

Thanks to Open City, the amazing restaurant near our old apartment in Woodley Park, whenever I think of pesto, pizza naturally comes to mind. (In case you haven’t been to Open City, drop everything you’re doing and order yourself a Chicken Pesto  Pizza. You won’t regret waiting 1.5 hours for table to get a bite.)  So when we had quite a large amount of Basil Kale Pesto left over, it was only fitting to make some sort of pizza with it.  Christina and I discussed toppings and settled on goat cheese pesto pizzas.

On my way home from work, I stopped by Trader Joe’s, giving myself the rule that I wasn’t allowed to use a cart or basket to avoid what usually happens when I go there.. Trader Joe’s may be my favorite store in the world, and I usually find myself buying $150 of groceries because, naturally, everyone needs at least 14 paneers in their freezer at all times. When I got to TJ’s, it wasn’t crowded at all, so I quickly scooped up the supplies for the pizza, as well as some blackberries (they were only $3.49, too good to pass up!) and some whipped cream for the berries.  A few other items made it into my hands, causing the goat cheese to fall on the ground several times as I proceeded to the register. Finally I made it through, and got home in time to prepare myself for my first Vinyassa Class at Down Dog.

The best part about pita pizzas, is that they’re really quick and easy to make.  You can prepare them with any toppings you want, and they’re virtually impossible to mess up.  Here is the recipe that Christina and I made up:

1.  Preheat your broiler.

2. Place pitas on a baking sheet, and spread a few dribbles of olive oil on top.

3. Scoop a few spoonfuls Basil Kale Pesto on top.  Add any other veggie toppings on top, I used cherry tomatoes and Christina used the left over asparagus from the previous night’s pasta.

4. Place the veggie topped pitas in the oven for about 3 minutes, so that the veggies get a bit warm before the goat cheese is added.  After 3 minutes, crumble the goat cheese on top, and return the pita to the oven for another 3 minutes.  The edges of the pitas will become a bit brown and crunchy.

5. Let cool for a few minutes (if you can wait they long, we couldn’t!) and enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

