Week two thoughts and a goat cheese salad

Posted on Updated on

Well, if I was ever worried that one box of veggies a week wouldn’t be enough, I was definitely wrong.

We are STILL working on last week’s red leaf lettuce. Actually, I think we finally finished it, a full week and a half later. The best part is, the lettuce from 6/1 is still delicious and fresh. It sure makes a difference that it hasn’t been sitting on a grocery store shelf for who even knows how long.

We also still have tons of green onions left. To be honest I don’t really like them and I’m stressed that we have more than I could dream of eating in a lifetime. They are over-running the entire refrigerator. I think I may try to dice, cut or chop them up and incorporate them into a quesadilla, soup, or salad to mask their true nature.

Two nights ago, we made strawberry and goat cheese salads with the red leaf lettuce. This lettuce seems to have a little more taste than regular iceberg lettuce. I don’t know if I should attribute that to the lettuce variety, or to the local-grown-ness of it.

The recipe was almost too simple to even mention. But a great 5-minute meal so, heck, I’ll mention it!

Goat Cheese & Strawberry Salad

Put lettuce on plate, add goat cheese crumbles, slice strawberries and add them, salt and pepper to taste, drizzle with dressing of choice. (Audrey made a delicious lemon, honey, dijon vinaigrette inspired by the one Sarah and Justin made for us last weekend in Charlottesville). I’ll get her to post the recipe here.

Leave a Reply

