Food Lover Goes Vegan: Day 2 of the Juice Cleanse

Image Posted on

Day Two

I woke up today feeling much better than I did yesterday afternoon. The cashew hemp mylk kept me full through the night, but I woke up as hungry as usual this morning.

Mornings always start with booster shots – today was e3 Live (essentially chlorophyll). I used to drink chlorophyll on the reg during my days in Colorado, which brings me to my next point and the question you have probably all been wondering – what brought me to the decision to do a juice cleanse and what are my lifestyle and  eating habits normally like?

Today I am not going to bore you by walking through all of my juices once more. Suffice it to say that there are seven every day (well, six juices and one booster shot in the AM) and some are the same and others are new. I will include descriptions of the new juices at the end of today’s blog, in case you are dying to know the nutritional value of what I am consuming.

Before I digress into my life story though, one quick anecdote on my second juice today. As per yesterday, juice two today is coconut water. Each of the glass bottles comes with a removable label containing nutritional facts, and when I went to pull the label off, I noticed the calorie count (I can’t help it, I’m a girl and my eyes zone in on calories). The label stated that my 16 ounce bottle of coconut water contained 890 CALORIES. Imagine my shock at something with the word “water” on the label claiming to contain 890 calories. I’m going to chalk this error up to the fact that Organic Avenue bottles all of its juices by hand every day, and someone must have placed the wrong label on the bottle (if you are wondering, coconut water contains only 45 calories per 16 ounce serving, according to Organic Avenue’s website).

Anyways, why am I doing a juice cleanse!? If you know me, you know I LOVE food. I am the type of person that spends hours on NYMag, Yelp, etc. searching for the best option for Saturday night dinner. I personally think finding the best restaurants (or secret bars, my other passion) when visitors are in town is more stressful than my 9AM to midnight, 1AM, 2AM or beyond finance job. I am the prime candidate for 4AM pizza. Suffice it to say, I love food. I’ve had my forays into diets in the past, but none of them stuck. Pretty much my entire pledge class attempted the Atkin’s diet for a week sophomore year, but that ended when a) upperclassmen on my field hockey team reamed us out for attempting to diet and play a college sport, b) we all got so moody from lack of food that no one was getting along and c) one unnamed friend was caught asking ‘If these cookies are organic, are they on the Atkin’s diet!?’. At that point, we all pretty much gave up on dieting.

Fast forward to two years out of college. We will ignore the first two for now, since coming from small-town Lexington, VA to the big city of Charlotte (note sarcasm here please), I was more than overwhelmed by going to bars (we had one in Lexington and no one went to it) and the abundance of dining options. So, no healthy eating occurred there.

And then I moved to New York. New Yorkers are a different breed of animal, and I find myself slowly turning into one. In New York, you can find fitness classes ranging from yoga (which is all the craze these days, I myself have been practicing for two years – Namaste) to one of my roommate’s favorites, Kangoo, which involves wearing weighted boots and going through a series of exercises. Name any type of diet or eating plan, and you can have it delivered to your door for a small fee of ~$30 dollars per day. This is New York. We are eclectic.

Anyways, in New York I started working out more (it helps that at my new job we have a gym in our office) and eating healthy during the week. You heard me, during the week…only. I still party on the weekends and obsess over and over-eat at nice restaurants all around New York. But my healthy eating during the week and the extra mileage I was walking in the city each day led to steady weight loss.
And then the holidays arrived in full force. I found myself cheating on my eat-healthy-during-the-week plan more and more. After some self-reflection, I realized that all of my favorite t-shirts were my favorites because they were mediums, instead of the size-small t-shirts I wore earlier in college. So I decided to kick-start a healthier lifestyle. Don’t get me wrong – you will still find me making lavish meal plans for the weekend (I LOVE bottomless brunch). I simply wanted a way to take a step back. I was so sick of nice food after the holidays that I wasn’t even hungry at meal times but would eat anyways. I stopped working out as much. I was toxic.

As I mentioned at the beginning of this post, when I lived in Colorado, it was much easier to make healthy choices because people there are obsessed with good health. Daily wheatgrass shots and chlorophyll drinks were my jam. New York actually isn’t so different from Colorado – this city is inundated with the same health food freaks. I am using this cleanse as a way to inspire myself to make healthier choices again and get caught up in the fun aspects of healthy eating.

Trust me, meeting a friend at a juice bar can inspire just as much conversation as a regular bar. Yoga is a great group activity. All that being said, my roommates and I already have dinner plans for this Friday night once my cleanse is over – once a foodie, always a foodie.

Today is going much better than yesterday. It’s 1:47PM and I don’t feel juiced out yet. I’m loving the tastes of the juices today (my orange juice at lunch was the best OJ I have ever had, and it should be at a retail price of $11.00 for a 16 ounce bottle). I feel refreshed after every juice and I don’t have a stomach ache today. I drank my orange juice (juice three) around 11:30 today, which was a bit earlier than yesterday. I made this adjustment to help avoid the overly full / juiced-out feeling I got around 4:00PM yesterday.

I had to avoid chugging my orange juice (again, Organic Avenue suggests that you sip the juices slowly over a period of time) because I have been looking forward to it since I received today’s menu in my inbox last night. Speaking of orange juice (which everyone knows contains vitamin C and prevents colds), I have not yet come down with the cold I felt coming on yesterday. Fingers crossed, my nutrient rich diet actually defeated the cold. Or perhaps it is as my mother always says, ‘feed the fever and starve (or over-juice, in my case) the cold.’

By the way, this blog is a great distraction when I start to think about how hungry I am. I started to get really hungry between the orange juice and my next juice, ginger lemonade. I thought about drinking the ginger lemonade 30 minutes early, but then I started writing this blog and the half hour passed easily. If you are wondering, I get to have a juice every two hours (except in the AM, coconut water is at 11AM and the next juice is at noon).

The juices generally start out lighter, beginning with the booster shot. After that is coconut water, and then two fruity juices, followed by two veggie juices and then a protein-laden mylk to end the day. It takes me anywhere from 20 minutes to an hour to finish a bottle of juice, depending on how much I like it. It’s a nice progression, but I don’t really like the veggie juices (or I didn’t yesterday). We shall see today.

It’s 4:05PM and I’ve just tapped into my first veggie juice for the day – Veggie Vibrance. This one is beet-based, and it tastes way better than the fresh-cut-grass based Green LOVE. I am pretty hungry at this point in the day, unlike yesterday when I was feeling overly full of juice, so I am actually looking forward to the two veggie juices and am hoping they fill me up. I also have a headache that just set in, and I’m guessing it is due to a lack of caffeine. No big deal though – I am more than half way done with my cleanse and I am determined not to interrupt the dispelling of toxins by taking Advil (yes, this is coming out of the mouth of the same girl who had a candy dish of Advil on her coffee table junior year).

Ugh, on to the green juice. It tastes like horse breath and I hate it. At this point in the day, I am hungry, and I am starting to feel bad for myself since work is really stressful and usually meal times are the only enjoyable part of my day. Which just goes to show how I think about food and why I am taking a three day break from it. On my worst day at work ever, I ordered calamari and spaghetti and meatballs. Food as reward. I would really like to reward myself with a healthy body and an active lifestyle – hence this cleanse. I don’t think my love of food will disappear somewhere between now and tomorrow, day three and the last day of this cleanse, but I’m hoping to make more food decisions with my health in mind.
As the day winds down, I find myself repeatedly checking my inbox for tomorrow’s menu. It’s really nice that Organic Avenue changes up the menu each day. The surprise every night adds an element of excitement to my cleanse. Or maybe I have just replaced my usual excitement about dinner with a menu obsession. I am thoroughly enjoying my last juice of the day, coconut mylk, although once again I am concerned about how much longer I have to work tonight. I still have a headache, which I’m hoping will go away tonight while I sleep, but I feel significantly better than yesterday. Once again, the last juice of the day is a tasty treat and I wish I had two – this coconut mylk reminds me of being at the beach!

I’ll sign off here until tomorrow. Stay tuned for my last day on the juice cleanse plus a fourth entry in which Christina will interview me on my experience. As promised, below is a description of the nutritional value of each of the new juices.

New Juice #1 – Orange Juice: I won’t insult your intelligence by listing the health properties of orange juice. Suffice it to say that this one was a tasty addition today.

New Juice #2 – Ginger Lemonade: This one is also delicious. Ginger contains 12+ anti-oxidants and thus aids in the prevention and treatment of a whole host of ailments. Ginger is also an aphrodisiac (oo la la). I have used ginger in the past to treat stomach aches (thanks to my mother) and it also reminds me of one of the aforementioned places I order from every week, Chimi Sushi (I love ginger on my sushi).

New Juice #3 – Veggie Vibe: Another of Organic Avenue’s veggie mixes (in addition to Green LOVE), Veggie Vibe contains beets. Beets are a powerful cancer-fighting agent, with several studies concluding that beets are highly effective in preventing colon cancer.

New Juice #4 – Coconut Mylk: Coconut mylk contains a lot of the same properties as coconut water – once again, the anti-Friday night. Coconut mylk is an all-natural isotonic beverage and  carries nutrients and oxygen to the cells, raises metabolism, promotes weight loss, boosts the immune system, cleanses the digestive tract, balances your PH and reduces the risk of cancer.

Leave a Reply

