Philly Cheesesteak and Pasta Dreams: Day 3 of the Juice Cleanse

Posted on

Day Three

My roommate and I always joke about how we gain weight in the winter because we eat more in order to insulate ourselves from the cold. Phrases such as ‘I need this Philly cheesesteak because I’m colddddd’ can often be heard in our apartment. Laura – it’s not a joke. Food really does keep you warm. I have been absolutely freezing for the past two days and today is no exception.

I think this will be my biggest challenge today. I don’t feel hungry, I just feel like an ice cube. Even though the weather in NYC is unseasonably warm (I think it was 50-something on Tuesday), I am wearing my winter coat around the office and sitting on my hands until I absolutely have to take them out to type. I also have my heat in my room eight degrees warmer than usual, which is a lot for gas heat. So, don’t think you are kidding yourself when you start packing on the pounds in the winter months – I envy you right now if you are eating soup, or for that matter, a cheesesteak.

Anyways, today I woke up excited for my last day on the cleanse. My menu today includes wheatgrass, which is a true throwback to my Colorado days when I would stop daily at Wild Oats (which I think was bought out by Whole Foods or some other giant chain and is now corrupted and no longer a local health food store) for a wheatgrass shot. This habit continued through my high school years until I got to college and realized that if you take a wheatgrass shot after drinking copious amounts of alcohol the night before, you WILL barf. I am feeling a lot of support from all of the people around me, so I’m excited to finish my cleanse out strong.

Today a man on the subway saw my bright orange Organic Avenue bag and approached me to chat about his O.A. cleanse. He sheepishly admitted that he immediately returned to his carnivorous lifestyle following his cleanse…little does he know I have been blogging about pasta dinners and cheesesteaks.

I have also told everyone at work about my cleanse, and today as I was putting my juice in the fridge, my coworker asked how my cleanse was going. ‘Today is my last day!’ I exclaimed, but then something odd happened. As I was going to open the fridge, I couldn’t open it despite using two hands and taking an athletic stance. My coworker burst out laughing and said it appeared that I was losing my strength on this cleanse. In reality, our fridge locks for a few seconds after someone closes it, and another coworker had just replaced the milk. Don’t worry, my strength is intact and I feel quite energetic this morning.

Well it is lunch time and since work is a bit slow this morning, I would normally use this time to sit down at lunch for an hour and get second helpings. Today, I am wondering what to do to pass the time. My lunch consists of grapefruit juice, which is fantastic. Farm Share the Love’s own Christina actually got me hooked on grapefruit juice when she bought a juicer senior year of college. In the words of Audrey, I generally believe grapefruit juice > orange juice, but Organic Avenue’s orange juice is so fantastic that it is a tough call today.

It’s 3:02PM and I haven’t felt hungry at all today. I think my stomach has finally adjusted to the lower calorie intake. I will say that I was a little jealous of the dessert platter left over from some meeting in our offices. My coworker stood in my cube while staffing me (if you work in finance, you know that “being staffed” sucks every time) AND simultaneously eating a cookie and a brownie. I thought about yelling at him, but I have also been working on being less caustic in the workplace, in addition to healthy eating.

My admin just lent me her space heater, so the cold problem is finally solved. All in all, today is looking up. I feel really great and have been able to concentrate on work because I’m not starving or freezing. My headache was gone when I woke up and has not returned. My next juice is Green LOVE. This is the last time I have to drink horse drool and then it is downhill from there. I am really looking forward to my cashew hemp mylk tonight because a) it is my favorite juice and b) that means my cleanse is over!

Approximately six people have asked me for gum today, and as many of you know, I love gum and generally have it on hand. I actually had to remove all gum from my cube in advance of this cleanse, because Organic Avenue told me that no gum is allowed on the juice cleanse. I generally chew ~15 pieces per day, so this cleanse is probably a good break for my jaw too. Anyways, I’m annoyed with all six of the aforementioned people.

At 8:37PM I was still waiting on comments from my VP, so I went to the gym for a bit. I ran a mile and biked eight miles and felt pretty good until the end when I was starving. I normally have my last juice at 8PM, but since I had meetings through 6:30PM, I was a juice behind. I cracked open my last and favorite juice, cashew hemp mylk, at 9:45PM and sat down to finish this blog. I’m feeling great and simultaneously looking forward to returning to solid food tomorrow.

Thanks to my awesome VP, I didn’t end up working as late as I thought this week (average departure of 11PM), so I’ll be out of here in 30 minutes. Thank goodness, since the counter in the kitchen here is covered in about 23 of my favorite foods – now you know what I am faced with on a daily basis…Ares is never lacking in delicious food.

My last juice is done and so ends my cleanse. Tomorrow I will start gradually with some Chobani Greek yogurt and build my way up a steep curve to my pasta dinner with my roommates. Organic Avenue recommends only eating vegetables and fruit tomorrow, but I don’t think I’ll stick to that. I took a deep dive into the LOVE Deep cleanse from my former lifestyle, so I think I can handle some good ole’ animal meat on day one. I’m definitely committed to making healthier choices and I think I will go back to old habits such as wheatgrass, but I miss being a carnivore.

If you have been wondering what all the hype surrounding juice cleanses is about, I encourage you to try one. If this food lover can give up food for three days, you can too.

New Juice #1 – Wheatgrass: Wheatgrass is a health miracle and I highly recommend that if you have read this far, try taking wheatgrass on a regular basis. The taste is potent (tangy, fresh cut grass), but I recommend chasing it with a shot of apple juice. You can get wheatgrass at any juice shop, Whole Foods or Jamba Juice. Wheatgrass contains a chlorophyll molecule that is almost identical to the hemoglobin molecule in the blood. Due to the similarity to the human body, wheatgrass can increase the red blood cell count as well as the blood’s capacity to deliver oxygen and other nutrients to the body’s cells. Wheatgrass improves blood flow, digestion and general detoxification of the body. As I noted above, DO NOT drink wheatgrass the day after consuming alcohol. I’m no scientist, but something about the way it rapidly detoxifies your body will make you barf. Seriously.

New Juice #2 – Grapefruit Juice: In addition to being delicious, grapefruit produces an alkaline reaction during digestion that reduces the acidity of the digestive system. Like orange juice, my other favorite fruit juice, grapefruit juice is a great source of vitamin C as well as lycopene, phytochemicals, vitamin A, potassium, folate and vitamin B5. A diet high in grapefruit is also known to lower cholesterol. My dad drinks tons of grapefruit juice, perhaps this is why.

**Stay tuned tomorrow for a final interview with Melissa**

Leave a Reply

