Day 2 – Coffee Dilemma..

Posted on

Coffee is something that I drink every day.  Usually, I’ll have about 2-3 cups of coffee at work each morning.  (Don’t worry, we have a half-caff policy at work.)  Along with my love of coffee, is my love of half and half, which unfortunately for me, comes from a cow.

About a week ago, I realized that I wouldn’t be able to enjoy my morning brew in the same way that I’m used to.  So the search for a substitute for half and half began.  I’ve tried soy milk in the past and have found that it leaves an unpleasant, fuzzy feeling in my mouth.  Luckily, Whole Foods provides several milk/cream alternatives beyond soy.   I settled on “So Delicious Coconut Milk Creamer” in the French Vanilla flavor.  At first, I thought it had a funky floral after-taste, but I must have gotten used to it, because I kind of enjoy it now.  Aside from adding it to my coffee, I’ve even started adding a splash into my morning oatmeal for an added kick.  (Wild, right?)

Over all, I give it a 6.5.  I’m going to keep my eyes out for new creamers, but will most likely go back to this baby.

In addition to the So Delicious creamer, I also tried a vegan yogurt for dessert.  Amande brand makes yogurt from cultured almondmilk.  Whole Foods had the coconut flavor on sale, so I grabbed one to try.  Not surprisingly, the consistency of this yogurt was as weird as “cultured almondmilk” would imply. It reminded me of what happens when you eat the old school Dannon Fruit-On-The-Bottom yogurt and forget to mix it until you’ve eaten too much of the yogurt.  Hopefully that description resonates with you, (if it doesn’t, think of a cross between too watery, too thick, and too chunky at the same time).   The actual flavor itself wasn’t bad, and I kind of started to like the weird consistency by the end.  Overall, I give it a 5.

For lunches this week, I made a “Super Foods” salad with wheat berries.  I hope you like it! (Please excuse the awful picture!)

Wheat Berry Super Foods Salad

For the Salad:

  • 1 cup of wheat berries, rinsed and soaked in water over night
  • 2 sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 1 cup frozen kale (you can also use fresh, steamed kale)
  • 1/2 cup -2/3 cup of mixed dried fruit such as cranberries, blueberries, or cherries
  • 1/2 cup – 2/3 cup of walnuts (I used soynuts, and regretted it.)

For the vinaigrette:

  • juice from 1 blood orange (or regular orange)
  • 1 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup (I used an agave/maple syrup blend from Trader Joe’s)
  • 3ish tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • salt and pepper to taste

1. Place wheat berries in a sauce pan and cover with water.  Bring to a boil, then simmer for about 40-50 minutes.  They should still be crunchy and should “pop” when you bite into them.  Drain any excess water.

2. Boil sweet potato cubes for about 7-8 minutes, until tender.  Drain and set aside.

3. In a large bowl, add the frozen kale, wheat berries, sweet potatoes, and dried fruit.  Stir until kale has defrosted.

4. In a small bowl, combine all ingredients for the vinaigrette.  Mix together thoroughly.

5. Add the vinaigrette to the salad, mixing well.  Add nuts last, then serve!

 

Leave a Reply

